• Welcome to the Ford Fusion Forum

To enjoy the Ford Fusion Forum's content, please click here to create an account.

• Custom Search

Sign in to follow this  
itsallkosher

Something Wrong MPG

Hi there. I recently got a 2016 Fusion SE with the 1.5 Ecoboost. I read it did a little better on gas than the non-ecoboost. 17000 miles used. The last fill up I did the math and i got 21 mpg. I thought the computer was wrong, but I'm just getting bad mpg. I know not to expect the factory estimates, but I drive 60/40 highway (expressway with no traffic at 65mph) so I'm stunned. I'm a very conservative driver and don't step on the gas at every green light. Yes, I use AC, but I'm still flabbergasted. My crossover SUV does better than this thing. Can something be wrong? 22 city/34 highway and most reviews saying they averaged 26 make me annoyed considering my drive. Am I missing something? Is this normal or is something wrong? Thanks!

I'd recommend that you continue tracking, as I wouldn't base your mpg on one tank of fuel. I use fuelly.com to track mpg on both of my vehicles, but tracking it manually works too.

I have a 2.0T, and my last 3 tanks averaged 19, 20, and 20, with probably 85% city driving and the air conditioning always on, and I never see decent mpg unless it is 100% highway driving.

I agree, your mpg is woefully bad. The average on fuelly for vehicles like yours is 28mpg. City driving kills Fusion turbo mpg in my opinion based on my experience. Honestly, I'd just say keep driving it. I have no suggestions to help improve mpg except to maybe change whoever you buy your gas from as a short term test, or try a different octane. With low miles the vehicle shouldn't need a new air filter or spark plugs yet.

Fuel octane won't make any measurable difference to fuel economy.

A sticky injector will however.